Page 10 - CFI Flooring Specialist Spring 2023
P. 10

Lewis and Hernandez Take Top Honors

                            as National Installers of the Year

                               by Michael Chmielecki, senior editor

            ollowing two days of grueling competition during   IUPAT lead floor covering instructor; Dwayne Pruitt, owner of
            The International Surface Event (TISE) in Las Vegas,   Pruitt Flooring; Efren Llamas, technical application specialist
        FRoy Lewis of Eagle Floorcovering Supplies and Hugo   for Taylor Adhesives; Tony Buckhardt, Carpet Cushion &
        Hernandez of MS Rouse Co. were crowned the winners of   Supplies branch manager; Steve Belong, IUPAT business
        this year’s National Installer of the Year contest. Lewis won in   representative; and Don Styka, Tarkett’s director of field
        the carpet category and Hernandez won in hardwood.  services. CFI thanks all of the CFI Pit Crew volunteers in
                                                            setting up the competition.
        The event also marked the return of regional competitions,
        held last year in Orlando, Fla., during CFI’s annual   The Installer of the Year Competition was presented by
        convention; in St. Louis at National Wood Flooring   the organizers of TISE and featured the sponsorship of
        Association’s (NWFA) headquarters; and in San Leandro,   IUPAT, CFI and NWFA. Exclusive category sponsors were
        Calif., at International Union of Painters and Allied Trades’   Performance Accessories, wood; Mohawk, carpet; QEP/
        (IUPAT) training center. From these regional contests the   Roberts, tools; and Taylor Adhesives, adhesives.
        semi-finalists and wild cards were chosen to compete live on
        the TISE show floor.                                For more information and to view previous years’ winners,
        Competing in the carpet category were Roy Lewis (father),   national-installer-of-the-year.html.
        Eagle Floorcovering Supplies, Phenix City, Ala.; Justin Lopez,
        D.S. Baxley Inc., Livermore, Calif.; and Kevin Keefe, QEP Co.
        Inc. Unable to participate was Roy Allen Lewis (son), of Eagle
        Interiors, Phenix City, Ala., so alternate Zachary Stacy, Pruitt
        Flooring, Wichita, stepped in.

        Finalists in the hardwood category were Hernandez; David
        Beagle, Tile-Tec; William Hensley, William Hensley Inc.; and
        Hasan Basic, D.S. Baxley Inc., San Ramon, Calif.

        Judges in referee shirts for this year’s competition were
        Suzy Namba, co-owner of Namba Services Inc.; Jerry Miller,   From left are Roy Lewis and Hugo Hernandez crowned as
        owner of Miller’s Flooring Consultants; Andrew Smith,              National Installers of the Year.
        customer relations field manager for Engineered Floors;
        Chris Sessum, owner of ECS Floor Covering; Val Chestohin,

                                                                  Carpet division finalists Justin Lopez, Zachary Stacy, Roy  Photos by ProInstaller magazine and Paul Friederichsen
                             Zachary Stacy
                                                                   Lewis and Kevin Keefe receiving $500 from Mohawk.

                                                                                                 continued >>>
   10       Flooring Specialist        Spring 2023
   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15